De Baca County, New Mexico

De Baca County was created February 28, 1917 from  Guadalupe, Chaves, and Roosevelt  counties. Named for Ezequiel Cabeza de Baca, the second  governor of New Mexico.   The county seat is Fort Sumner, NM.   Click here for county history.

Check out these places:   Fort SumnerGerhardt ValleyRicardoTaiban  ;   YesoEl  Yeso Ranch.

Quick Links to:

Questions or comments about this page should be addressed to Harold Kilmer , Clovis, NM. If you are interested in adopting a county please contact the State Coordinator. The New Mexico State Coordinator is  Harold Kilmer. Your help is needed and will be appreciated.

From Nov. 17, 1997

You are our   visitor -- thanks for stopping by!
High Plains Historical Fd.
Thanks to Art Michaelis who created the NMGenWeb Project logo.
Page design and Coordinator for De Baca County: Harold Kilmer
This Website and its files: Copyright © 1997 - 2012
De Baca County, NM for the USGenWeb Project
Last revision: June 15, 2012